Meet the Cast: Cassandra Meyer

Meet Cassandra Meyer, who thunders into A Southern 023_8x10Victory Part II as Margaret “Peg” Mitchell.  Cassandra returns to VTG after starring in the IRNE-Nominated Burning Up the Dictionary, and we’re ecstatic to have her back!

Vagabond Literary Manager Zach Winston asked our cast a few questions about their time with ASV, their experience with the role, and their future. Read Cassandra’s take below!

 

Tell us about your character(s). What kind of tools have you been using to prepare for your role (research, technique, process, etc)? Is it different from what you typically do?
In any play with a historical context, I start with research.  Especially when the character you’re playing might be based on a real person.  This Margaret Mitchell is not the Margaret Mitchell you know, but I’ve been finding pieces of the historical Margaret that inform this character as well.  I found an old photo of an unnamed woman from the 1920s and the expression on her face IS my Peg Mitchell.  I look at that photo all the time.  I find I build every character differently, sometimes it’s a costume piece or the way they move that defines them.  I’m still defining Peg… and I’m excited to see how she turns out!
What aspect from the time period as presented in the given circumstances of A Southern Victory fascinates you the most?
The entire world Kevin has built fascinates me.  We’re not just dealing with the split of our country, but we’re seeing glimpses of the global implications of that split.  If the Confederacy had won the civil war, the world would be different – not just the United States.  Which countries would be allies of the U.S.? Which would be allies of the Confederacy? The economic reach of the United States has long impacted the rest of the world – if this reach was slowed, or stopped entirely, where do we see those ripples in the global economy? Does this version of history set the same stage for World War II?  Mikey had mentioned the Butterfly Effect… this change in our history would be one HUGE butterfly.
 
What’s something you feel as though you would like the audience to know before seeing A Southern Victory
 Oh, I’m with Mikey on this one too – please come see all three parts.  It’s one story with many pieces, but if you don’t get to see the whole story you miss this beautiful monstrous arc Kevin has written.  It deserves to be seen in its entirety.
 
Do you personally relate to your character? Have you ever encountered conflict or obstacles like that which they face? How did you react? How would they have reacted? 

There are pieces of Peg that I relate to – she feels pressure from the society she lives in to fit into a certain mold and she wants to fight that.  Especially as a woman over 30, even the modern world around me seems to judge why I’m not married yet, why I don’t have children yet, when am I going to do the things I’m “supposed” to do. Even if the culturally expected things are things I may want, I still feel the urge to fight what other people think I should do with my life.  Peg and I – neither one of us likes being told what to do.

 

 
A Southern Victory is a play that alters our perception of time in history. If you had a time machine, how would you use it? Where would you go? Would you want to change anything? See anything? 

That is a dangerous question, because of course I have no will power and would love to see many things from the past.  I think I would love to see how my ancestors lived.  It would be quite something to watch your great- great- great- grandparents get married, or see any of the choices that were made, in the order they were made, which all led to your very existence.

 

 
What has been your favorite thing about rehearsal? What kinds of obstacles and challenges have you encountered? 
 I love rehearsing with these people! I feel like I’m learning something new every time we work and those discoveries are little balls of joy.  That sounds completely cheesy.  I know it does. But it’s true. As for obstacles, I’d say rehearsing three full-length plays in the time we have is an obstacle in its own right, there is a lot going on all the time.
Some actors have been working on A Southern Victory for two years, others for a few months. How involved have you been in the script’s development so far? How have you seen it evolve from then until now?
I’ve been involved with this script for a year or so, through various literary meetings and readings.  It’s been really nice to see this part of the evolution of the script because it started from such a strong place to begin with.  The work that Kevin and Vagabond have done over the last year has clarified the characters, strengthened the drive of the action, really polished this huge story.  And it’s exciting to be a part of that process… I’ve seen simple changes that make a scene just click and really fly..
 
Any projects lined up for after A Southern Victory? Plans? Tell us about them!  
Oh, I have plans.  Wouldn’t you like to know 😉.
Leave a Reply

